Miscellaneous Stuff I’m Working On and My Site

Well, you may have noticed that I have as yet failed to post today, and it is rather late.  This is because I spent all day at a festival and had no time on my computer.  Yes, believe it or not, I don’t always live behind the screen.  Seeing as that it is beginning to become morning and I have a day of work with my robotics team ahead of me, I dont really have the time or energy to write a detailed post on some piece of technology, so I’ll just start out by giving you a rundown on a bunch of problems I’ve been working on and then go on to talk about the content on my web site.

  • For starters, my laptop has this issue where it takes a long time to start applications the first time after booting, and some of the other applications fail to start properly or have weird pauses.  I’ve been working on this intermittently for weeks now and have so far been unable to figure it out (which is a really rare occurence for me).  If anyone can give me a hand, I’m running fluxbox on arch linux on a thinkpad t60p
  • It occured to me yesterday that I would like to run linux on that old ipod I don’t use.  I looked it up, and sure enough there is a project to get linux on the ipod.  Unfortunately, the ipod I have is unsupported due to changes in apples encryption stuff.  There is a project to get linux working on my device, but it has not progressed too far yet.  If you have an old ipod, try it out and tell me how it goes.
  • I’m trying to move my printer from being connected to my desktop to my server box.  I’m having trouble with this.  I think a post I plan to do later on will explain why this is being an issue for me, focusing on the nature of the server.
  • Inverted Productions has made some decent web games that are definitely worth checking out.  It’s all the more impressive when you know that their entire team is made up of high schoolers.

Well, that’s enough of that.  The last thing I’d like to talk about is my own personal web site, techdabble.com (previously known as mankindisone.com).  I’ve just recently restarted it after a hiatus of a few years, and it is not yet at 100%.  That said, I’m putting up more content all the time, so please check back on it often.  Currently, there are sections for tutorials and then ‘my stuff’, an incredibly vague category which presently encompasses the two scripts I’ve featured on this blog.  I would now like to share with you some of my plans for expansion on the site.

I need to finish the Java tutorials.  I’m making these tutorials to benefit the computer science students at my school who are stuck working with a very bad textbook.  Part 1 of 5 is currently complete, but I’ll get to the rest soon.  The super quick-start guide for BASH scripting that I promised last week is also in the works, with part 1 of 2 completed.  My linux getting started guide is actually completely empty, largely because it is such a wide subject area that I don’t really know where to start.  One simple howto that I have completed is my guide on how to save a game in nethack even if your character dies.  Although they are mostly incomplete, I’ve put what I have up for now.  Future tutorials will include an introduction to programming for the FIRST robotics competition for the benefit of my school’s robotics team programmers, a getting started guide for nethack, and a basic tutorial on the vim text editor, among other things.  In the ‘My Stuff’ page, I’m going to add a personal info page for you to get to know me better.  I also intend to put up essays and other pieces of writing that I compose, in addition to screenshots or pictures of adventures that I may have (after all, it is a personal site).

Now that I’ve written the last bit of my energy into this task, its time for some sleep.  Or maybe not.  I have some interesting reading to do (and a website to work on).

Leave a Reply

